Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Varnish advice needed...  (Read 2101 times)
Dazy
« on: September 12, 2013, 07:07:15 pm »

Hi everyone! I'm new here and I'm relatively new to crafting.  Smiley I have a bit of a problem to ask your advice about, so here goes...

I have recently started making papier mache bowls and I enjoy the actual making of them - but the decoration is more of a challenge. I'm using acrylic paints and decoupage, over two coats of Gesso. I like the effects I have achieved so far (although I'm still learning, so they're not very sophisticated) but I don't know how best to "finish" my work.

I tried a coating of diluted PVA, to seal the acrylic paint, and it seemed to work well. It looked nice and had a gentle shine BUT just touching it with a damp finger (two weeks after it dried) made it go odd and even lifted it a bit. So now I'm trying Mod Podge Hard Coat... But THAT is a bit too matt for my liking.

Any recommendations for a fairly glossy varnish that is somewhat water resistant? I'm not expecting the bowls to hold water, just withstand some splashes long enough to be wiped. I've seen descriptions of lots of wood varnishes, paper varnishes, sprays etc, but I'm confused and would love some experienced input please.  Smiley

ann from consett
Bloom

retired and still loving it. these are my 2 DGD's

« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 09:47:36 pm »

have you thought about yacht varnish,

ann

ann from consett.

Lynnspain
Administrator
Floral Arrangement

San Miguel de Salinas, Costa Blanca, Spain

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 09:53:36 pm »

Lovely to see you posting and welcome to the forum, however, unfortunately I can't help you on this one. I do hope someone has an answer for you.

Lynn
With my luck, when my ship comes in, I'll be at the airport.

Jennie
Administrator
Floral Arrangement

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 10:58:08 pm »